

National Parks & Wildlife Advisory Council

The National Parks and Wildlife Advisory Council provides the NSW Minister for the Environment and the NPWS executive with independent, informed advice on the priorities, design, implementation and evaluation of NPWS policies, strategies and programs to help achieve the objects of the National Parks and Wildlife Act.

Council also plays a key advocacy role through engagement with stakeholder organisations and networks.

Meeting summary – Sydney, 13 August 2024

Council were provided updates on:

- Investment in visitor and infrastructure assets.
- Reserve acquisitions.
- Aboriginal joint management.
- Staff support and safety.
- Monitoring of reserve ecological health to inform management.
- Wetlands management.
- Wildlife rehabilitation.
- Feral animal and weed control.

NPWS briefings were provided to Council for discussion and advice:

- NPWS Litter Strategy.
- Plans of management.
- Fire and Incident Operations update.
- Visitor Services update.
- NPWS involvement in biosecurity.

More information: www.environment.nsw.gov.au/NPWS/NPWSAdvisoryCouncil.html

Council members

Cr Phyllis Miller OAM (Chairperson): Local Government NSW

Mr Ted Rowley (Deputy Chairperson): Rural and regional development and planning issues

Assoc Prof Rosemary Black: Environmental education and community involvement in environmental education

Ms Rhonda Ashby: Aboriginal cultural heritage conservation

Dr Grahame Douglas AM: National Parks Association of NSW

Cr Romola Hollywood: Local Government NSW

Assoc Prof Julie Old: Scientific qualifications in an area associated with the conservation of nature

Ms Cathy Parsons:

Ecotourism or the sustainable visitor or tourist use, enjoyment and appreciation of reserves

Mr Edward Whyman: Aboriginal Cultural Heritage Advisory Committee member

Mr Craig Thomas: Representing peak recreational bodies

Mr Ross McDonnell: NSW Nature Conservation Council

Mrs Bronwyn Petrie: NSW Farmers

Dr Rebecca Spindler: Scientific qualifications in areas associated with the conservation of nature

Dr Allison O'Sullivan: Qualifications in cultural heritage research

Mr Gregory Mullins AO AFSM: Bushfire management

Mr Andrew Smith: Hunter Central Coast Regional Advisory Committee

Mr Bob Conroy: Greater Sydney Regional Advisory Committee

Mr Geoff Chapman: West Regional Advisory Committee